You should always know what to expect when you're building your criminal defense. If you've been charged with domestic violence, here are three important things to keep in mind:
- New York City implemented a "mandatory arrest" law for domestic violence charges. This means that if the police respond to a domestic violence call and they have probable cause, they're legally required to arrest you.
- Penalties for domestic assault conviction include up to $5,000 in fines and up to 25 years in jail. Sentencing depends on a variety of factors, such as previous convictions and the severity of the current charges.
- Domestic violence cases could be heard in family court or criminal court, depending on the situation. While in court, a judge will decide to set bail or release you on your own recognizance.
Get in touch with Deborah J. Blum, Esq. in New York, NY today to discuss the specifics of your case. Attorney Blum can help you build the strongest defense possible against domestic violence charges.